American Legion

The American Legion was chartered by Congress in 1919 as a patriotic, mutual-help, war-time veterans organization. A community-service organization which now numbers 2.8 million members.

Men and women in nearly 15,000 American Legion Posts worldwide comprise the American Legion family. These Posts are organized into 55 Departments, one each for the 50 States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, France, Mexico, and the Philippines.

The American Legion’s national headquarters is in Indianapolis, Indiana, with additional offices in Washington, D.C. In addition to thousands of volunteers serving in leadership and program implementation capacities in local communities to the Legion’s standing national commissions and committees, the national organization has a regular full-time staff of about 300 employees.

Since 1919, the American Legion stands for: Defense, Veterans, Youth, and Patriotism



The American Legion Preamble

“For God and Country, we
associate ourselves together for
the following purposes:

To uphold and defend the
Constitution of the United States of
America; To maintain law and order;
To foster and perpetuate a 100-percent
To preserve the memories and incidents of
our associations in the great wars; To
inculcate a sense of individual obligation to
the community, state and nation; To combat
the autocracy of both the classes and the
To make right the master of might; to
promote peace and good will on earth;
To safeguard and transmit to posterity the principles
of justice, freedom and democracy; To consecrate and
sanctify our comradeship by our devotion to mutual